Emergency Management

The County of Peterborough has an Emergency Management program as does the City of Peterborough.  For further information on the County's program please visit our Emergency Management Section of our website.


The County of Peterborough shares the responsibility of Paramedic service with the City and the Ministry of Health.  For more information visit our Paramedic Section of our website.

Fire Services

Fire services are managed by the municipalities within the County of Peterborough - Asphodel Norwood, Cavan-Monaghan, Douro-Dummer, Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, North Kawartha, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Selwyn and Trent Lakes; with City of Peterborough having their own service.

Police Services

Peterborough County is mainly covered by Ontario Provincial Police out of the Peterborough detachment.  Lakefield, Cavan-Monaghan and Peterborough City are contracted by Peterborough Police Service.

Hospitals and Healthcare

For more information on hospitals and healthcare please visit our Hospitals and Healthcare Section.

Peterborough Public Health Unit

The Peterborough Public Health Unit serves the residents through the City and County of Peterborough, as well as Curve Lake and Hiawartha First Nations, offering a wide range of programs and services such as controlling infectious disease outbreaks, water safety, poverty reduction initiatives, amongst others. Please visit the Peterborough Public Health Unit for more information.